Well done, Unions!

Black Friday will not have had an impacted on Amazon’s management! We could not find anything after the fact regarding the negotiations that took place as a result of the strike starting on 24 November 2017, except for the driven and impassable final answer from Amazon’s management underlining that: “the salaries paid to our personnel are among the highest in the logistics sector and Amazon moreover offers a number of perks, such as private medical insurance or funds to pay for training courses “, putting an end to the union’s attack. In short, this action has had about the same effect as a wet firecracker to all those involved.

By contrast, the SMEs, entrepreneurs, freelancers, …, as well as Humanitarian and even Governmental Organisations have unfortunately suffered damages. The entire international import-export sector has been affected and the impact zone extends to just about every country in the world, especially the developing nations. The butterfly effects of these certainly legal but still unilateral decisions is devastating at this scale in the countries where they were quite unexpected. My bad !

Of all the articles published on the subject, but a rare few deal with the political and commercial relations between China and Europe (or more globally the East). To have suffered this strike in China, where it is important to remind that procedures

  • Of inspections,

  • Of respecting standards,

  • Of obtaining export licences,

  • And of other authorisation applications

have been rendered considerably more complex as a consequence of the evidently poor economic, political and diplomatic relations between China and Europe; between Europe and the East and Europe and the West as well as currently between the United States and the rest of the world (e.g.: aluminium – steel); is to the detriment of both the company and the citizen.

Concretely, on site, Road Export has seen the giants of the air in goods transport indulge in excess to the detriment of their customers, their customers’ customers etc. Prices have seen a 10-fold increase in the space of 48h. Transporters and agents have, at first, strengthened their procedures, taking received goods hostage in case of refusal, even legitimate, to pay excessive increases in invoices. Some cargos have even been destroyed! Recovering your down payment, in part or in whole, is an uphill battle that is often in vain and always expensive for the victim.

We understand our worker friends but think that this “punishment” action belongs to a bygone era. As irony would have it, by striking at the wrong target, the powerful syndicates undermine or even outright betray the very same workers they protect to the benefit of who they are fighting.

 

 

 

Share this post with your friends !

ll done, Unions!

Le Black Friday n’aura pas impacté la direction d’Amazone ! Nous ne retrouvons rien après-coup sur les négociations qui ont eues lieu suite à la grève qui a débuté le 24 Novembre 2017 hormis l’expéditive et impassible réponse finale de la direction d’Amazone soulignant que : “les salaires versés à nos travailleurs sont parmi les plus élevés dans le secteur de la logistique et qu’Amazone offrait également certains avantages, tels que l’assurance médicale privée ou l’argent pour payer les programmes de formation”, mettant un terme à l’attaque syndicale. Bref, une action n’ayant pas plus d’effet qu’un pétard mouillé pour l’intéressé.

Par contre ; pour les PME, les entrepreneurs, les indépendants, … les Organismes Humanitaires et même Gouvernementaux, des dommages collatéraux sont à déplorer. Tout le secteur de l’import-export international aura été touché et nous pouvons étendre la zone d’impact à la plupart des pays du globe avec une pensée toute particulière pour les pays en voie de développement. L’effet papillon de ces décisions certes légales mais unilatérales, est, à son échelle, dévastateur à des endroits où l’on ne s’y attendait pas. Oups !

De tous les articles publiés sur le sujet, on ne parle que très peu des relations politico-commerciales entre la Chine et l’Europe (ou plus globalement l’Occident). Pour avoir vécu cette grève de la Chine, Chine où il est important de rappeler que les procédures;

  • d’inspections,

  • de respect des normes

  • d’obtentions de licences d’exportations

  • et autres demandes d’autorisations

s’y complexifient considérablement en conséquence des évidentes mauvaises relations économiques, politique ou diplomatique entre la Chine et L’Europe; entre l’Europe de l’Est et l’Europe de l’Ouest et à présent entre les Etats-Unis et le reste du monde (cfr. : alu – acier) et au détriment de l’entreprise et des citoyens.

Concrètement, sur place, Road Invest a vu les géants du transport aérien de marchandises s’en donner à cœur joie dans les excès et au détriment de ses clients, les clients de ses clients, etc. Les prix se sont vus multiplier par 10 en l’espace de 48h. Les transporteurs et agents ont, d’emblée, renforcé leurs procédures, prenant en otages les marchandises récoltées en cas de refus, légitime, de paiement des augmentations fulgurantes de factures. Le cas échéant, les cargos sont détruits ! Récupération des acomptes ; partiels ou total, est un parcours de combattant qui se révèle vain et coûteux pour le pénalisé.

Nous comprenons nos amis travailleurs mais pensons que cette manière de « punir » appartient à un époque révolue. Ironie du sort, en frappant au mauvais endroit, les puissants syndicats font vaciller, voir tomber les mêmes travailleurs qu’ils protègent au service de ceux qu’ils combattent.

 

Partager cet article avec vos amis !